Commonly Asked Questions:
How much does a session cost?
• The fee is $110 per session. Many therapists accept a variety of insurance plans and Employee Assistance Programs (EAPs). Several therapists also offer a sliding fee scale who have financial hardship and do not have -or choose not to use- insurance.
How do I know if a therapist accepts my insurance?
• Let us know of your insurance provider when you call to make an appointment so that we can direct you to therapists that work with your insurance company. It is always best to call your insurance company to verify that your therapist accepts your specific plan. You may discuss other options with your therapist if they do not accept your plan.
How do I use insurance?
• Since insurance plans differ greatly, we strongly encourage you to check with your insurance company to verify what mental health benefits are provided. When you talk to them inquire if there is a deductible, if you need pre-authorization, or if you have a co-pay. Record the information you receive and have this information with you when you call to make an appointment and the first time you come.
How do I use an Employee Assistance Program (EAP)?
• Employee Assistance Programs typically provide benefits with an exact number of sessions and/or a time limit to complete those sessions. Check with your provider to see what you’re given. If your provider pre-authorizes you to receive counseling, bring that pre-authorization number with you to your first visit.
When and how do I pay for services?
• Payment (or co-payment) is expected at the time of service. You may pay by cash, check, or credit card.
What should I bring for my first visit?
• If you’re going to file insurance, please bring your insurance card and a photo ID. If your insurance company requires pre-authorization, please bring the pre-authorization number with you. You should plan to come about 15 minutes early to your first appointment to fill out paperwork. You can also print and fill out the paperwork at home and bring it with you.
What if I need to cancel an appointment?
• We require a 24-hour notice to cancel an appointment. If you’re unable to do this you will receive a late cancellation fee. Please contact your therapist as soon as possible to discuss your cancellation.
How will my information be kept confidential?
• Professional services at PPI carry the same expectations of confidentiality as a physician-patient relationship. Privileged communications will be respected within the boundaries of the law of the State of Ohio and the Federal HIPPA regulations.
If you believe a counselor or psychologist at PPI has violated any of your privacy rights or if you disagree with a decision that was made about these rights, you may send a written complaint to Richard A. Donnenwirth; 8035 Hosbrook Rd, Suite 300; Cincinnati, OH 45236.
In the case of a complaint against a counselor, you may send a written complaint to the Counselor, Social Worker & Marriage and Family Therapist Board: CSWMFT Board; 50 W. Broad St, Suite 1075; Columbus, OH 43215-5919.
In the case of a complaint against a psychologist, you may send a written complaint to the State Board of Psychology of Ohio; 77 S. High St., Suite 1830; Columbus, OH 43215-6108.